Log In | Contact Us| View Cart (0)
Browse: Collections Digital Content Subjects Creators Record Groups

Office of Institutional Advancement | University of Michigan-Dearborn Archives

Name: Office of Institutional Advancement

Historical Note:

The university began to do some external fundraising with the appointment in March 1975 of Dr. Lee Katz as first Associate Dean for Development and Research Support.  Katz also coordinated Evening programs, but by 1978 worked fulltime on development, as Dean of Academic Development in the Office of Academic Development. The office was responsible for sponsored research and special projects, alumni development, and state relations. 1978 was the first year in which more than one million dollars was raised in outside funding for faculty research, and other academic activities.  Katz left the university in July 1981.

Susan Burt was appointed by Chancellor William Jenkins (1980-1988) in June 1982 as director of Sponsored Research and Development.  She was promoted to Associate Vice-Chancellor for Sponsored Research and Development in 1985, making her the highest-ranking woman on the campus.  She left the University in June1987for a position with the State University of New York at Binghamton.  [interim?] Jack Gibson was Associate Vice Chancellor for Development and Sponsored Research, and director of the department of Development and Sponsored Research from Sept. 1988 through August 1989. Chancellor Blenda Wilson (1989-1993) appointed Barbara Owens, formerly of the DSO, the United Negro College Fund, and New Detroit, as director of development, reporting to the Vice Chancellor of Development, in September of 1990.  William Weatherson was interim executive director of university advancement from January through June 1991. In July 1991, Wilson appointed Wayne State University’s Lynne Aldrich, a person with excellent contacts in the American Association of University Women, as the first person to hold the title of Vice Chancellor of Development.  Chancellor James Renick (1993-1999) replaced Aldrich with Susan Skramstad, a longtime member of the chancellor’s staff (1984-1993).  Skramstad held the position of Vice Chancellor of Institutional Advancement from 1993 through most of 1996, giving notice in July that she would be moving out of state.  During her tenure, substantial increases in donations and gifts were made, as well as a full reorganization into the Office of Institutional Advancement.  Susan McClanahan, who came from UMAA and WSU, was Vice Chancellor from Jan.1997-June 2002, when she left to work for the University Musical Society in Ann Arbor.  Ray Metz, Chief of Staff and Executive Assistant to the Chancellor, was interim Vice Chancellor until Tom Baird, of UMAA and the Nature Conservancy, took over as head of IA in November of 2003.  At this time, IA includes Directors of Corporate Funding, Development Funding, Henry Ford Estate Funding, as well as Alumni Relations, and University Relations.

The first annual fund-raising drive was in 1977-1978. The annual fund campaign of May 1983 raised $20,000, up 9% from 1981-82.  The Regents agreed to include UM-D in the “Campaign for Michigan” in 1983.  Alumni pledges from a phon-a-thon Sept. 29, 1983 raised $15,000.  The May 1984 annual fund drive raised $34,239.  UM-D participated in UM’s Capital Campaign, (MCampaign, the Campaign for Michigan), 1992-1997, and raised $24 million, a record for the campus.  UM initiated another five-year capital campaign in 2002, part of which is UM-D’s goal of $40 million. 

Annette Ketner was Director, Corporate and Foundation Relations, between 1996 and June 2001.

For pre-1994 material, consult the finding aid for the Office of Academic Development, and Office of Development. Additional information may also be available in the records of the Chancellor's Office, as well as campus publications and IA’s website. This history will be augmented as further research is done.


Page Generated in: 0.18 seconds (using 107 queries).
Using 8.99MB of memory. (Peak of 9.09MB.)

Powered by Archon Version 3.21
Copyright ©2011 The University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign