Log In | Contact Us| View Cart (0)
Browse: Collections Digital Content Subjects Creators Record Groups

Higher Learning Commission | University of Michigan-Dearborn Archives

Name: Higher Learning Commission

Historical Note:

The University of Michigan-Dearborn has been accredited several times by the North Central Association of which the Higher Learning Commission is a part. The NCA was founded in 1895 as a membership organization for educational institutions. It is committed to developing and maintaining high standards of excellence.

The Association is one of six regional institutional accrediting associations in the United States. Through its Commissions it accredits, and thereby grants membership to educational institutions in the nineteen-state North Central region: Arkansas, Arizona, Colorado, Iowa, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, North Dakota, Nebraska, Ohio, Oklahoma, New Mexico, South Dakota, Wisconsin, West Virginia, and Wyoming.

The Higher Learning Commission is recognized by the Secretary of Education and the Committee on Recognition of Post-secondary Accreditation (CORPA, now continued under teh Council on Higher Education Accreditation, or CHEA). (from HLC website)

The Higher Learning Commission visited the campus in 1993, as well as 1974 and 1984.

Page Generated in: 0.087 seconds (using 113 queries).
Using 8.96MB of memory. (Peak of 9.07MB.)

Powered by Archon Version 3.21
Copyright ©2011 The University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign